Job Serve Africa Country Fact File

Republic of South Africa

Republic of South Africa

The Republic of South Africa is a country located at the southern tip of the continent of Africa. The South African coast stretches 2,798 kilometres and borders both the Atlantic and Indian oceans. To the north of South Africa lie Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique and Swaziland, while the Kingdom of Lesotho is an independent enclave surrounded by South African territory.


South Africa has a two-tiered economy; one rivaling other developed countries and the other with only the most basic infrastructure. It is therefore a productive and industrialised economy that exhibits many characteristics associated with developing countries, including a division of labour between formal and informal sectors and an uneven distribution of wealth and income. The primary sector, based on manufacturing, services, mining, and agriculture, is well developed, and the country has a buoyant job sector where many illegal immigrants seek to cross the borders for work in the major cities.

Other cities in SA are: Messina, Polokwana, Pretoria, Johannesburg, Ladysmith, Richards Bay, Durban, East London, De Aar, Bloemfontein, Kimberley, Upington, Port Elizabeth, Cape Town, Saldanha

For jobs in South Africa click here.

Country Population: 47 900 000
Country Capital: Pretoria (Executive) Bloemfontein (Judicial) - Cape Town(Legislative)
Country Currency: South African Rand

View Current Weather

Return to country list