Job Serve Africa Country Fact File



The Republic of Botswana is a landlocked nation in Southern Africa. Formerly the British protectorate of Bechuanaland, Botswana adopted its new name after becoming independent within the Commonwealth on 30 September 1966. It is bordered by South Africa to the south & southeast, Namibia to the west (Formally South West Africa), Zambia to the north, and Zimbabwe (Formally Rhodesia) to the northeast. The economy, closely tied to South Africa's, and one of the most successful in Africa, is dominated by the fast-growing service sector, world-renowned mining (especially diamonds) industry, tourism, and manufacturing.

 Botswana is home to the Okavango delta, the worlds largest inland delta. The Okavango is home to a prosperity of wildlife and attracts thousands of visitors a year. Tourism and mining are key growth sectors in Botswana's economy.

For jobs in Botswana click here

Country Population: 1,639,833
Country Capital: Gaborone
Country Currency: Pula

View Current Weather

Return to country list